Mobilization to the Developing World

June 19-21, 2018

Delta Bessborough Hotel, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada

Register now for the 2018 Emerging Technologies for Global Food Security Conference! The complete conference website, including information on our host hotel, and other hotels in the conference area, will be available in March 2018.

Dr. Maurice Moloney,
Executive Director and CEO, GIFS

A sneak peek into what you can expect to find at the 2018 Conference!

  • Giles Oldroyd is currently working a research project to reduce agricultural reliance on nitrogen fertilisers and is leading an international programme funded by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation to explore the feasibility of engineering nitrogen-fixing cereals. He has been recognised by a number of awards for his research including EMBO young investigator, European Research Council young investigator, Society of Experimental Biology Presidents medal, Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit award and a BBSRC David Philips Fellowship. Professor Oldroyd will speak on “Biological nitrogen fixation and its implications for global food security.”

  • Ameenah Gurib-Fakim was sworn in as the 6th President and First Female President of the Republic of Mauritius in 2015. As a Founding Member of the Pan African Association of African Medicinal Plants, Ms. Gurib-Fakim co-authored the first ever Africa Herbal Pharmacopoeia. She has authored and co-edited 28 books, several book chapters and scientific article in the field of biodiversity conservation and sustainable development.

    Ms. Gurib-Fakim was named to the Forbes List for the 100 ‘Most Powerful women in the world’ in June 2017, and was listed 1st among the Top 100 Women in Africa Forbes List 2017. She is honoured as one of Foreign Policy’s 2015 Global Thinkers.

Over 340 delegates attended the 2016 Emerging Technologies for Global Food Security Conference!

The 2016 Conference featured 47 speakers from 25 countries including Kenya, United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Nigeria, Australia, Colombia, New Zealand, Ethiopia, Brazil, Switzerland, Norway, South Africa, and the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia!